Fifth Knowledge Lecture:

(Philosophus Degree)

AZOTH is a word formed from the initial and final letters of the Greek, Latin and Hebrew Alphabets thus: — A and Z, Aleph and Tau, Alpha and Omega. It is used with various meanings by different writers but generally signifies Essence.

The following names occur in Qabalistic writings:—

AIN — the Negative    (Nothing — Not)
AIN SOPH   (Limitless)
AIN SOPH AUR    (The Limitless Light)


These are the Veils of the Negative Existence depending from Kether.

ARIK ANPIN   — MACROPROSOPUS or The Vast Countenance is a title of Kether, and another of its titles is the Ancient of Days, AATIK YOMIN   

Kether or the Vast Countenance emanates first as ABBA, the Supernal Father, and AIMA the Supernal

ABBA  The Supernal Father is referred to YOD of Tetragrammaton, and

AIMA  The Supernal Mother is referred to HEH.
is a name given to these two Persons united.



As Elohim they become the parents of THE SON ZAUIR ANPIN   , also called MICROPROSOPUS or the LESSER COUNTENANCE.

ABBA is referred to YOD and the Sephira CHOKMAH. AIMA is referred to HEH and the Sephirah BINAH. ZAUIR ANPIN is referred to the six Sephiroth—Chesed, Geburah, Tiphareth, Netsach, Hod, and Yesod, and of these especially to TIPHARETH.

MALKAH The Queen, and KALAH  The Bride are titles of MALKUTH considered as the Spouse ofZauir Anpin, the Microprosopus.

The Letters of the Name YHVH contain these meanings, thus:—

YOD is referred to ABBA. 



HEH (final) to MALKAH.

These Letters are also referred to the Four Worlds and the Four Suits of the Tarot thus:—

YOD           ATZILUTH      WANDS
HEH            BRIAH            CUPS
VAU            YETZIRAH     SWORDS
HEH (f)      ASSIAH          PENTACLES

ýn each of the four worlds are the Ten Sephiroth of that World, and each Sephirah has its own ten Sephiroth, making 400 Sephiroth in all — the number of the letter TAU, The Cross, The Universe, the Completion of all things.

The Tarot is thus referred to The Tree of Life:

the four aces are placed on the Throne of Kether — the remaining small cards of the suit desired on the respective Sephiroth, 2 on Chokmah, 3 on Binah, etc. The 22 Trumps are then arranged on the Paths between them, according to the Letters to which they correspond.

the kýng and queen of the suit are placed beside Chokmah and Binah respectively; the Knight and Knave by Tiphareth and Malkuth.

the tarot trumps thus receive the equilibrium of the Sephiroth they connect.

the admýssýon badges used in the grade of Philosophus are as follows:

the calvary cross of twelve squares, admitting to the Path of Qoph, the 29th Path, refers to the Zodiac and to the Eternal River of Eden divided into Four Heads:

Nahar — The River

1. Hiddikel

2. Pison
3. Gihon
4. Pharath

the pyramýd of the four elements admits to the Path of Tzaddi, the 28th Path.

On the sides are the Hebrew Names of the Elements. On the apex is the word Eth — Essence,
and on the base the word Olam meaning World.


THE CALVARY CROSS OF TEN SQUARES admits to the Path of Peh, Mars — the 27th Path. The Ten Squares are referred to the Ten Sephiroth in balanced disposition. It is also the opened out form of the double Cube of the Altar of Incense.



THE CROSS OF THE HEGEMON'S BADGE admits to the Grade of Philosophus. This cross embraces Tiphareth, Netsach, Hod and Yesod, and rests upon Malkuth. The Calvary Cross of Six Squares also refers to the six Sephiroth of Microprosopus and is the opened out form of the cube.

Finally we have the symbol of Venus on the Tree of Life

It embraces all ten Sephiroth on the Tree. It is a fitting emblem of the isis of Nature. Since it contains all the Sephiroth its circle should be made larger then that of Mercury shown in a previous diagram.



There are various formats of the Sephiroth. The most frequent has already been given, but there is another in common usage and will be seen to have been employed in some of the large Altar diagrams of both the Practicus and Philosophus Grade. It is often referred to as The Seven Palaces of Assiah attributed to the ten Sephiroth.

This drawing represents the triad of elements operating through the Sephiroth and reflected downwards into the Tree. Air is reflected straight down the Middle Pillar, from Kether through Tiphareth to Yesod and the upper quadrant of Malkuth. Water is relfected cross-wise from Binah through Chesed to Hod. Fire is reflected cross-wise from Chokmah through Geburah to Netzach. Malkuth therefore becomes the receptacle of the other three elements.






Let the PHILOSOPHUS meditate upon the symbol of the Fire Triangle in all its aspects. Let him contemplate the symbol of the Planet VENUS until he realises the Universal Love which would express itself in perfect service to all mankind and which embraces Nature both visible and invisible.

Let him identify himself with the powers of FIRE, consecrating himself wholly until the Burnt Sacrifice is consummated and the Christ is conceived by the Spirit.

Let him meditate upon the Triplicity of Fire - its attributes and correspondences.




Let the Aspirant meditate upon the Cross in its various forms and aspects as shown in the Admission Badges throughout the Grades.

Let him consider the necessity and prevalence of sacrifice throughout nature and religion. Let him realise the saying of the Master, ‘Whosoever shall save his life shall lose it, and whosoever shall lose his life shall save it.’

‘Except an ear of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone, but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.’

Let him endeavour to realise his own place and relative importance in the Universe, striving to stand outside himself and allowing only such claims as he would allow to another.

Let him carefully abstain from talking of himself, his feelings or experiences that he may gain continence of speech, and learn to control the wasteful activities of his mind.

Let him contemplate the Sun as thinly veiled in clouds.